University of Antwerp

The University of Antwerp is an internationally oriented research university with a student body of about 21.800, whereof 13 % are international students. It is characterised by its high standards in education, internationally competitive research and entrepreneurial approach. It offers 33 Bachelor, 66 Master, 32 Advanced Master and 35 postgraduate degrees – all Bologna compliant – organised in 9 faculties, 48 centres and 20 institutes. 24 programmes are entirely taught in English. Doctoral programmes are available in all faculties. ECTS is fully implemented in all study programmes. The UAntwerp has 5 Research Centres of Excellence and counts several internationally renowned research groups. The university emphases 4 domains in the field of education: nexus education/research, competences, activation of the student and internationalization.

The University of Antwerp has extensive experience in the management of international cooperation projects both in research and education. The University has participated successfully in the following European educational programmes, both as coordinator and as partner: Socrates/LLL (numerous exchange agreements, various IPs, CD’s, Grundtvig and Comenius initiatives), annually approved Leonardo and Lingua projects, Tempus (since 2000 involved in 10 Tempus projects in MEDA/TACIS/CARDS countries), Asia-link, Alfa and Alban, Edulink, Erasmus Mundus Action 1 (EMMC), Erasmus Mundus Action 2 (Partnerships), Jean Monnet (holder of different chairs), Tuning, EU/US Atlantis.

Since 2009 the International Relations Office has coordinated 6 Erasmus Mundus Action 2 programmes in a row: one with China as a partner country and 5 with South Africa as a partner country. The university is an active partner in Edulink and Tempus projects with the Caribbean and Ukraine as partner regions.

The longstanding managerial experience in mobility and other international cooperation projects makes the UAntwerp a reliable coordinator and partner in international cooperation.